Senate Simple Resolution 110
118th Congress(2023-2024)
A resolution honoring the life and legacy of the late James George Abourezk.
Passed Senate on Mar 15, 2023
S. RES. 110 (Agreed-to-Senate)

1st Session
S. RES. 110

Honoring the life and legacy of the late James George Abourezk.


March 15, 2023

Mr. Rounds (for himself, Mr. Thune, Mr. Schumer, Mr. McConnell, Ms. Baldwin, Mr. Barrasso, Mr. Bennet, Mrs. Blackburn, Mr. Blumenthal, Mr. Booker, Mr. Boozman, Mr. Braun, Mrs. Britt, Mr. Brown, Mr. Budd, Ms. Cantwell, Mrs. Capito, Mr. Cardin, Mr. Carper, Mr. Casey, Mr. Cassidy, Ms. Collins, Mr. Coons, Mr. Cornyn, Ms. Cortez Masto, Mr. Cotton, Mr. Cramer, Mr. Crapo, Mr. Cruz, Mr. Daines, Ms. Duckworth, Mr. Durbin, Ms. Ernst, Mrs. Feinstein, Mr. Fetterman, Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Gillibrand, Mr. Graham, Mr. Grassley, Mr. Hagerty, Ms. Hassan, Mr. Hawley, Mr. Heinrich, Mr. Hickenlooper, Ms. Hirono, Mr. Hoeven, Mrs. Hyde-Smith, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Kaine, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. King, Ms. Klobuchar, Mr. Lankford, Mr. Lee, Mr. Luján, Ms. Lummis, Mr. Manchin, Mr. Markey, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Menendez, Mr. Merkley, Mr. Moran, Mr. Mullin, Ms. Murkowski, Mr. Murphy, Mrs. Murray, Mr. Ossoff, Mr. Padilla, Mr. Paul, Mr. Peters, Mr. Reed, Mr. Ricketts, Mr. Risch, Mr. Romney, Ms. Rosen, Mr. Rubio, Mr. Sanders, Mr. Schatz, Mr. Schmitt, Mr. Scott of Florida, Mr. Scott of South Carolina, Mrs. Shaheen, Ms. Sinema, Ms. Smith, Ms. Stabenow, Mr. Sullivan, Mr. Tester, Mr. Tillis, Mr. Tuberville, Mr. Van Hollen, Mr. Vance, Mr. Warner, Mr. Warnock, Ms. Warren, Mr. Welch, Mr. Whitehouse, Mr. Wicker, Mr. Wyden, and Mr. Young) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to


Honoring the life and legacy of the late James George Abourezk.

    Whereas James G. Abourezk was born in Wood, South Dakota, to Lebanese immigrants in 1931;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk earned a degree in civil engineering from the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, graduated from the University of South Dakota School of Law, and practiced law in Rapid City, South Dakota;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk served in the United States Navy from 1948 to 1952;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk was elected to the United States House of Representatives in 1970 and represented the State of South Dakota from 1971 to 1973;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk was elected to the United States Senate in 1972, representing the State of South Dakota from 1973 to 1979, and was the first Arab American to serve in the United States Senate;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk re-established the Committee on Indian Affairs of the Senate, serving as the first Chair of the Committee after re-establishment;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk, after leaving the Senate, co-founded and was the first chair of the American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee;

    Whereas James G. Abourezk served as the first Attorney General of the Navajo Nation from 1982 to 1983; and

    Whereas James G. Abourezk continued to advocate on behalf of Native American communities after his retirement: Now, therefore, be it



(1) the Senate—

(A) has heard with profound sorrow and deep regret the announcement of the death of James G. Abourezk, former member of the United States Senate and the House of Representatives;

(B) honors the life and legacy of James G. Abourezk for his unwavering dedication to South Dakota as a public servant and his accomplishments in legislating with principle and dedication for the good of the people of the United States; and

(C) respectfully requests that the Secretary of the Senate communicate this resolution to the House of Representatives and transmit an enrolled copy thereof to the family of James G. Abourezk; and

(2) when the Senate adjourns today, it stand adjourned as a further mark of respect to the memory of James G. Abourezk.